The Golden Calf – possessing 3

Solomon had a tussle in his thoughts  with other people prospering (this is a little ironic

Hoard of ancient gold coins

Hoard of ancient gold coins (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

with all the material wealth he eventually ended up with). His problem was particularly with those who were not good or kind but were still prospering and doing well. How can it be that those who cheat, lie and live selfishly can have less troubles and more finances that those who live right? It caused him to nearly sway off his life course. It nearly sent him sliding off into empty places BUT then he went into God’s presence.

Psalms 72:2-3 (NLT) But as for me, I almost lost my footing.     My feet were slipping, and I was almost gone. For I envied the proud when I saw them prosper despite their wickedness.  17 Then I went into your sanctuary, O God… 

For all the temptations of this world the solution is to look at God’s face. The treasures of the world pale into insignificance once you look into the eyes of God. Nothing is comparable to the eternal smile of the Father. No pearl, diamond or jewel is anywhere near to the satisfaction of feeling the honey love of heaven.

In our striving to reach that which we cannot get we tear ourselves up inside. We damage ourselves with jealously, bitterness, anxiety and dissatisfaction. There comes  a point when we have to measure our lives in the light of eternity – what will we take with us and what will we leave behind?  We will look at what we have, want we don’t have and still be satisfied with God’s goodness. He will be our portion and our all in all.  The only thing that we will want to possess is more of him.

 21-25 Then I realized that my heart was bitter, and I was all torn up inside. Yet I still belong to you;  you hold my right hand. Whom have I in heaven but you?  I desire you more than anything on earth.

Today: What is it that you strive to own – large house, car, good job, etc? Make your focus today the presence of God and the treasures of heaven.

Leave a Reply

