The Golden Calf – doing2

God is bringing all of us to a place of rest and quite. I keep coming back to this point at the

English: Stream leading To Calf Hey reservoir

English: Stream leading To Calf Hey reservoir (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

minute 🙂

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. Psalm 23

You do not need to do because you lack nothing. You cannot persuade God by doing stuff to love you more, that you are worth his love, that your value is increased – He cannot possibly love you any more.

It is in those times of lying down, those still waters that a miracle will occur. You will come to know the truth about God’s unconditional love. Do I know this love in its fullness? – no I don’t , but I am hungry for more and open to learn where I am telling myself lies, or hiding hurts.

As a child I was born with a severe skin condition. My skin was sore, itchy, uncomfortable and the sores often got infected.  This meant my memories of childhood are full of sadness. I was called names at school – such as carrot peelings, I was picked on by teachers, I had trouble adapting as a teenager as my appearance was not beautiful and wherever I was I felt uncomfortable and embarrassed for looking like I did. God healed my skin 4/5 years ago – but inside I have a greater journey to go on. The affects of withdrawing, being picked on, feeling ashamed and rejecting myself is taking a while to work through. It is in the times of waiting before God that he shows me who I am, what I have taken on that isn’t of him, what he thinks of me, what memories still affect me today and much more.

I must admit that I was skeptical of all this heart healing stuff. Though it was for the softies, or perhaps the flaky Christians – but God has shown me how essential it is to my life in order for me to be saved – fully whole inside and out. How can I be ready to hold the presence of God in its fullness in revival if I am tender and cracked. We need to be vessels ready for Him. I want to know him more.

Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong.  And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Ephesians 3:17-19 (NLT)

Leave a Reply

