Morning by Morning

Exodus 16:21 they gathered the food morning by morning

Cock-a-doodle-doooooo!

Cock-a-doodle-doooooo! (Photo credit: Ian A Kirk)

 Lam 3:23 great is his faithfulness; His mercies begin afresh each morning

Was it a coincidence the manna started off like refreshing dew? I don’t think so. It was a sign of his fresh faithfulness each morning. His mercies lying on the ground. They had to go out and gather the overflow of blessing and goodness. Some would have landed around their tent but most of it they would have had to make an effort to reach out and gather

I would like to be aware of the fresh faithfulness and mercies of God falling around me all the time. Some are within arms reach – obvious blessings. My house, my health but some are further out to look for; new friendships, fresh success, new opportunities. These blessing I have to reach out and gather.

I am challenged over the number of blessings that fall around me that I miss. That sunset laid out in the sky for me, the bird outside my window singing for me, the smile from a friend made for me, the warmth of my socks, the crunch of gravel on the path, the embrace of a daughter, the lift in a piece of music, the droplet of rain hanging off a leaf, the smell of bacon in a pan. These are all an extravagant love gift from my Father that were given me fresh this morning.

Do we feast on the goodness of the Lord every day because we have gathered in his faithfulness into our heart ? We have been aware of his fresh blessing morning by morning and have taken them as precious mercies into the storehouse of our souls? To do this we have to be turned onto the overflowing gifts that fall around us all the time.

The feast we eat is set in the midst of our enemies Psalms 23 is the goodness that falls around us. He shows those who conspire against us that there is a feast of mercy and goodness for us to partake of. This abundance of love laid out for you is for you to enjoy, savour and imbibe.

The feast of manna  in Exodus 16

  • v13 Wet like dew – refreshes the soul
  • v11 Like bread – food for the soul
  • v11 You can eat all you want – satisfies
  • v31 Tastes like honey – is good and sweet

 “Great is Thy faithfulness!” “Great is Thy faithfulness!“

  Morning by morning new mercies I see;

All I have needed Thy hand hath provided—

    “Great is Thy faithfulness,” Lord, unto me!

Thomas Chrisholm 1923

Today; Spend time being aware of the blessing that Father God is giving you fresh morning by morning. I have even started a notebook to gather my blessings in so that everyday I am  being aware of his lavish love for me – perhaps you need to start one too 🙂

Leave a Reply

