Hiding and Heart Connection

We were never made to be isolated by hiding.

"Adam and Eve" from The Brick Testam...

“Adam and Eve” from The Brick Testament website (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 Genesis 3:8-10 (CEB)

During that day’s cool evening breeze, they heard the sound of the Lord God walking in the garden; and the man and his wife hid themselves from the Lord God in the middle of the garden’s trees.  The Lord God called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?”

  The man  replied, “I heard your sound in the garden; I was afraid because I was naked, and I hid myself.”

God had come to walk  with Adam and Eve in the late afternoon. He enjoyed these walks with his children just dawdling among the trees, smelling the flowers and watching the sun go down. Tonight however was different.  He wandered around the garden and no-one came running to embrace Him. Those he was passionate for were now hiding from him. How do you think God felt to find them like this?

In Genesis 2:25 we see that Adam and Eve were naked and they felt no shame, but after making a bad choice in taking forbidden fruit, they are full of guilt and remorse. They have broken a heart connection with the God who they used to trust. They are now afraid of the punishment and reaction of the one they were so close to.

God’s desire to have a heart connection with them had not changed but man had hid himself.

Because of hurts, shame and fear I hide myself. I hide from God, from others and I put a face on to show what I think they want to see. I hide in a roomful of people so that they will not find out what I am really like or what I have done. I want to cover my weakness and bad choices. I put up hard exteriors over my heart in order to protect the sore and broken parts of my soul. Underneath our callouses and rough encasing  we find that we cannot feel very well. Our hearts grow numb and we cannot connect with people or God. We become increasingly  isolated and lonely. The end result is a feeling that feeds rejection and a sense of abandonment.

Jesus came to take our shame so that we can be naked before God. Nothing we have done is now separating us from God – Jesus has paid for everything, he has taken the punishment.  We can take off our armour and the layers we have piled on to protect our hearts. We can fully trust his love and faithfulness to us.  We do not need to live in fear and shame any longer.  We can live with fully connected hearts with God and find he walks with us on our journey.

We hear his sound in the day’s cool evening breeze. Will  we run out and share heart with him – or will we be found hiding?

Today: Be naked before God. Take off anything that is protecting your heart and admit your weaknesses. It is time to take off shame and live without fear of punishment.

Leave a Reply

