Take the Pressure off

Pressure Gauge

Pressure Gauge (Photo credit: bugmonkey)

Walking the dog yesterday morning I felt all the things going around my head that I wanted

to do before the kids go back to school. I was wondering how much I could fit in. The pressure was mounting as I thought of all the things I felt I was behind in and needed doing.  God spoke to me and said – “Why are you putting pressure on yourself?”

I considered all my responsibilities to my employers, my natural family, my spiritual family, my pets ( 🙂 ) and myself. My thoughts then drifted into my heart where I felt a physical pressure pushing down inside and wondered if the pain was coming from me.

Even through hard times I think I am the person who expects the most from me. I can be the one that is hard to please, I can be the one that pushes myself to the limit, I can be the one who wants it done just right. Even in what other people say, expect of me, ask things of me – I am the one that chooses to listen to them and then applies the pressure internally.

In Exodus 5 we find that because the Israelites  were trying to find freedom to go and worship their God Pharaoh put the pressure on big time!

6 That same day Pharaoh gave this order to the slave drivers and overseers in charge of the people: 7 “You are no longer to supply the people with straw for making bricks; let them go and gather their own straw. 8 But require them to make the same number of bricks as before; don’t reduce the quota. They are lazy; that is why they are crying out, ‘Let us go and worship our God.’

When we set our heart on pilgrimage there is one who doesn’t want us to worship God.  Our enemy will do all he can to put the pressure on to distract us from our hearts desire and the hope of things being any other way. We need to see this for what it is and refused to carry Satan’s heavy loads. Jesus said his load is easy and his burden is light (Matthew 11;30). We only have hands to carry one load. Does your load feel light or heavy? Whose load are you carrying?

The last thing that one should take on an adventure is heavy loads – it will limit the places we can explore and the success of the journey. We need to stop being so hard on ourselves and let ourselves make mistakes and play like children. We need to stop thinking of the end result, the destination  – a child has more fun mixing, eating, playing with cake dough than it does eating the cake at the end.

A key to the next few months is the ability to wander ‘aimlesslessly’ with God .  To give him time and focus. To rest in his presence with or without music and just spend time with him. I cannot emphasis how important it is to take time out and soak in the Holy Spirit.

Keys to deal with pressure

  1. Take the pressure off ourselves, our own demands and expectations.
  2. Practically stop doing something  to free up some time
  3. Don’t waste time that is already free – either relax well (not in front of tv) or spend it with God
  4. Lay burdens and worries on God and take up his yoke to keep heart free and ready to learn
  5. The things you actively do do them from a place of peace not pressure

Today: Ask where in your life are you putting pressure on yourself. Give yourself permission to free up time in this season to sit and daydream with your Father

Leave a Reply

